Types Of Trigger Node

Trigger types lets you configure the workflow start time. You can either schedule or set up a recurrent trigger. There are following trigger types:

  • Time

  • HTTP

  • SNS

  • Event

  • Custom

The Trigger Node is the first Node of any workflow

  1. Time: Initiates a workflow based on time. You can perform the following configurations in the Time trigger type.

  • Schedule: It triggers the workflow on a specific day of the week, at a specific time. If you want a workflow to start everyday at a specific time, you must select all the days of the week. This trigger is suitable for CRON jobs, Ops tasks, DR tasks, periodic auditing tasks, etc.

You can select Monday from the Day drop down menu, and 9:10 am from the Time drop down menu, your workflow will start every Monday at 9:10 am

  • Recurrent: It triggers the workflow at periodic intervals. This trigger is suitable for workflows invoking Lambda functions, Ops , or monitoring tasks. For example,

    • Trigger the workflow every 5 minutes

    • Trigger the workflow every hour

  • Custom (Coming soon): This trigger type triggers the workflow according to a "CRON expression.” With this, you have the flexibility to define your CRON jobs according to your requirements. This trigger is suitable for a detailed schedule control that a normal Schedule trigger cannot fulfill.

2. HTTP: This trigger helps initiate a workflow by calling the HTTPS URL. Each workflow has a unique HTTPS endpoint that can be used to trigger the workflow either by calling it manually or using a programmed script.

3. Alarm: This triggers lets you start a workflow when a CloudWatch Alarm goes off. You can select the details from the drop down list of the following fields to configure and initiate the trigger.

  • Select a region

  • Select an AWS account

  • Select a SNS Topic Configuration

  • Select Alarm

All times are in UTC

For more usage examples, click here.